MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING – EDEN TOWN BOARD 2795 EAST CHURCH STREET EDEN, NEW YORK JANUARY 2, 2002 7:30 P.M.

TOWN BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

GLENN R. NELLIS - SUPERVISOR
TIMOTHY J. WALKER - COUNCILMAN
MARY LOU PEW - COUNCILWOMAN
VINCENT V. VACCO - COUNCILMAN
GEORGE F. ZITTEL - COUNCILMAN

DEPARTMENT HEADS PRESENT:

Andrew C. Reilly of Wendel - Town Engineer

Ronald C. Maggs - Superintendent of Highways

Patrick M. Howard - Chief of Police

Paul Shephard - Eden Emergency Squad

William H. Laing - Eden Fire Chief

Kevin R. Schoenthal - East Eden Fire Chief Susan Brass - Recreation Director

R.Ferris Randall - Chairman Board of Assessors

Scott T. Henry - Zoning Code Enforcement Officer

OTHERS PRESENT:

William Trask - Town Attorney Mary Jo Hultquist - Town Clerk

Ann Knack - Administrative Assistant

Call to Order:

Supervisor Nellis called the Regular Meeting of the Eden Town Board to order at 7:32 P.M.

Pledge of Allegiance:

Supervisor Nellis led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag followed by a moment of silence.

REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

TOWN OF EDEN FOR THE YEAR 2002

Supervisor Nellis began the Re-organizational Meeting by reading the following items:

- 1. Regular meetings of the Eden Town Board will be held on the second Wednesday of each month starting at 7:30 P.M. Additional meetings will be held on the fourth Wednesday of each month as needed.
- 2. The official newspaper of the Town of Eden will be <u>"The Sun"</u> located in Hamburg, New York.
- 3. Surety Bonds will be carried as follows:

```
$490,000.00 – Tax Collector
$40,000.00 Supervisor
$24,000.00 – All Others
```

- 4. Mileage reimbursement will be \$.30 per mile while using personal vehicles on Town business, authorized in advance.
- 5. Copies of adopted minutes will be on file at the Eden Library and the Town Clerk's office.
- 6. Appoint HSBC, M & T, Evans National & Fleet Bank and other institutions as deemed appropriate by the Board, as banks for deposits, checking and investments.

MOTION was made by Councilman Vacco to accept and approve Items Nos. 1 thru 6 as presented; seconded by Councilman Zittel; All – "Ayes"; Opposed? – None; Abstain? – None; Motion carried.

Councilman Krycia then read the Salaries of Elected Officials as followed:

Salaries of Elected Officials:

- 1. Town Board Members \$7,366.00 yearly to be paid quarterly.
- 2. Justices Michael Cooper and Colin Campbell at \$11,029.00 each yearly to be paid monthly.
- 3. Supervisor Glenn R. Nellis at \$27,100.00 yearly to be paid bi-weekly.
- 4. Head Assessor (Ferris Randall) \$13,128.00 yearly, to be paid monthly and the other two assessors \$10,213.00 each yearly, to be paid monthly.

- 5. Town Clerk, Mary Jo Hultquist \$25,716.00 yearly, to be paid bi-weekly.
- 6. Highway Superintendent, Ronald Maggs at \$49,196.00 yearly, to be paid bi-weekly.

MOTION was made by Councilman Zittel to approve the above salaries; seconded by Councilwoman Pew; All – "Ayes"; Opposed? – None; Abstain? – None; Motion carried.

Supervisor Nellis then read the Appointments and Salaries as followed:

Appointments and Salaries:

Appoint Jayne Cohoon full-time Court Clerk at \$23,457.00 yearly to be paid bi-weekly.

Appoint Betty Ann Neifer part-time Court Clerk at \$10.38/hr. for up to 150 hours per year.

Appoint Paula Thurston part-time Court Clerk at \$8.11/hr. for 10 hours per week.

Appoint Scott Henry full-time Building Inspector at \$42,584.00 yearly, to be paid bi-weekly.

Appoint William Laing Fire Inspector for structural fires at \$60.00 per occurrence.

Appoint Kathleen McCarthy part-time secretary to the Building Inspector for five (5) hours per week at \$8.30/hr. to be paid bi-weekly.

MOTION was by Councilman Vacco to approve the above appointments as stated by Supervisor Nellis; seconded by Councilman Zittel; All – "Ayes"; Opposed? – None; Abstain? – None; Motion carried.

Appoint Joan Doctor part-time secretary to the Assessor for 19 hours per week at the rate of \$9.90/hr., to be paid bi-weekly.

The Chairman of the Assessment Board of Review is to be paid \$100.00 yearly and the other members of the Assessment Board to be compensated \$60.00 each yearly. A secretary, if needed, will be compensated \$200.00 per year.

Deputy Town Clerks will be paid \$8.30 per hour, not to exceed a total of 1,350 hours for the year.

The Town Clerk is authorized to appoint a stenographer for Town meetings at \$50.13 per session.

Appoint Mary Jo Hultquist, Registrar, at a rate of \$2,446.00 yearly, to be paid quarterly.

Appoint Martin Szal, Caretaker for the Town Hall, at \$12,376.00 yearly, to be paid monthly.

Appoint William Sickau and Thomas Ford part-time custodians at 40 hours each per month at \$10.25/hr. to be paid monthly.

Appoint Katherine Czaster as Senior Citizen Transportation Coordinator at \$6.59/hr. for 19 hours per week, to be paid bi-weekly.

Appoint Raymond Zabron, part-time Dog Control Officer, at an annual salary of \$10,026.00, to be paid monthly.

Appoint Barbara Caffery, part-time Dog Control Officer's secretary at an annual salary of \$2,549.00, to be paid monthly.

Appoint Susan Brass, Recreation Director at \$15,062.00 yearly, to be paid monthly.

Appoint Cynthia Kugler, part-time secretary to the Highway Superintendent at \$8.37 per hour for 19 hours per week, to be paid bi-weekly.

Appoint Timothy J. Walker, Town Prosecutor, at annual salary of \$4,233.00, to be paid monthly.

Appoint Shaw & Shaw (William Trask, Town Attorney) to provide legal services for the Town at an annual compensation of \$19,200.00, to be paid monthly.

The Police Chief and full-time patrolmen will be compensated per the 2000-2001 Agreement between the Town of Eden and the Eden Police Club.

Part-time Police Officers will be paid \$10.50 per hour, not to exceed a total expenditure of \$29,085.00 for the year.

Part-time dispatchers will be paid \$7.50 per hour, not to exceed the budgeted authorization of \$25,350.00 per year.

Appoint Thomas Jones, Robert Brueggeman, Jennifer Mills, Terry Blasz, Darci Cooper, Seth Howard and Jane Henry part-time Police Dispatchers; Joseph Flynn, Charles Privitera, Mark Baltes, Mike Rakiecki, Re' Biastre, Ray Zabron and Rob Ellis part-time Police Officers, not to exceed sixteen (16) hours per week each.

MOTION was made by Councilman Krycia to approve the above appointments and salaries as stated by Supervisor Nellis; seconded by Councilman Zittel; All – "Ayes"; Opposed? – None; Abstain? – None; Motion carried.

Councilman Krycia read the following appointments:

Appoint Kathleen McCarthy, Planning Board Secretary at \$55.00 per occasion.